jesus preaching at the sermon on the mount

Jesus Teaches the Beatitudes


This Rosary reflection contains the story and words of Jesus, who teaches his disciples what it means to be blessed by God

The Gospel Account

Matthew’s Gospel presents Jesus as a Teacher, who surpasses Moses. Moses went up  Mount Horeb to receive God’s law, amid thunder, fire, and lightning. Jesus climbs the mountain to teach God’s law in a new way and his disciples don’t flee; they come to him.

The Rosary Reflection contains the first part of Jesus’ Sermon on the Mount, found in Chapter 5 of the Gospel of Matthew.

The Five Decades

When you pray the five decades of this Rosary Reflection, use these five moments from Jesus’ teaching in the Gospel. Read the Gospel verses for each decade and let the words sink in as you pray that decade.

First Decade:  Jesus Teaches His Disciples (Matthew 5:1)

When Jesus saw the crowds, he went up the mountain, and  after he had sat down, his disciples came to him. He began to teach them, saying:

Second Decade:  The Poor in Spirit, Those Mourning (Matthew 5:3-4)

“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are they who mourn, for they will be comforted.”

Third Decade: The Meek, Those Seeking Righteous,  The Merciful (Matthew 5:5-7)

“Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the land. Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be satisfied. Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy.”

Fourth Decade: The Clean of Heart, The Peacemakers (Matthew 5:8-9)

“Blessed are the clean of heart, for they will see God. Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God.”

Fifth Decade: The Persecuted (Matthew 5:10-12)

“Blessed are they who are persecuted for the sake of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are you when they insult you and persecute you and utter every kind of evil against you falsely because of me. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward will be great in heaven. Thus they persecuted the prophets who were before you.”

What to Remember

These verses from the Gospel of Matthew reflect Jesus as the “New Moses,” teaching how people how to live a blessed life – by loving God and others. Jesus presents the “Kingdom of heaven” values: mercy, peace, purity, perseverance, poor in spirit, mourning, and meekness.

As a follower of Jesus, and child of God, you have the privilege of listening to Jesus’ teaching, preserved in Scripture by the Christian community throughout the ages. Mary lived these Kingdom of heaven values her entire life. Her prayers can help you listen to and learn from her Son’s teaching.

What to Pray For

  • For the grace to hear and live Jesus’ teaching on the Beatitudes.
  • For mercy, peace, meekness, and justice for all those in roles of leadership and authority.
  • A renewed commitment for all Christians to live the Beatitudes and teach them by example.
  • or all people to live with greater peace, joy, and love.

Feel free to pray the rosary using these Scripture verses for a deeper awareness and commitment to Jesus’ teaching on the Kingdom of heaven values.

When This Gospel Appears

This  Gospel account is proclaimed on the Seventh Sunday in Ordinary Time, in Cycle A of the Lectionary, as well as at the Solemnity of All Saints. The latest appearance is November 1, 2022.

* Scripture passages are from the United Conference of Catholic Bishops website,

Previous Post
communion of saints mural
Wisdom Literature

Commemoration of All Souls: Wisdom 3

Next Post
picture of jesus teaching with raised left hand
Parables of Jesus Words of Jesus

The Parable of the Pharisee and Tax Collector

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.